administrators Reply Quote

Answer : Explanation : The shadow zone is the area of the earth from angular distances of 104 to 140 degrees from a given earthquake that does not receive any direct P waves. The shadow zone results from S waves being stopped entirely by the liquid core and P waves being bent (refracted) by the liquid core. There are two types of Shadow zones:one for P waves andone for S waves. P wave shadows between 104-140 degree, both sides; S wave shadow from 105 of one side to 105 of the other.

Click here to see the full blog post