administrators Reply Quote

Answer : 2 1955 Explanation : Answer: B) 1955 Explanation: The nationalisation of banks in India took place in 1969 by Mrs. Indira Gandhi the then prime minister. It nationalised 14 banks then. These banks were mostly owned by businessmen and even managed by them. Before the steps of nationalisation of Indian banks, only State Bank of India (SBI) was nationalised. It took place in July 1955 under the SBI Act of 1955.Nationalisation of Seven State Banks of India (formed subsidiary) took place on 19th July, 1960.1955 : Nationalisation of State Bank of India.1969 : Nationalisation of 14 major banks.1980 : Nationalisation of seven banks with deposits over 200 crores.

Click here to see the full blog post