administrators Reply Quote

Answer : 4 Parliamentary and Presidential Explanation : Answer: D) Parliamentary and Presidential Explanation: There are two major forms of democratic government.I. ParliamentaryII. PresidentialThe citizens elect the leaders in democratic government.The main difference is legislative and executive branches.Executive - head of governmentLegislative - how laws are made I. Parliamentary democratic government : (example - United Kingdom )1. Parliament = Legislature (Laws)2. Parliament controls the power3. Head of government is a prime minister chosen by the legislature4. Prime minister and cabinet are members of the legislature5. Prime minister answers to the legislature (fusion of powers)6. The government will stay in office for a specified period unless the prime minister loses support of the majority on an important vote.7. If this occurs- the P.M. must resign and elections are held immediately. II. Presidential democratic government : (example - United States of America)1. The executive and legislative branches are separate bodies elected independently by the citizens.2. Separation of Powers3. There are checks and balances where each branch can overrule the other.4. The president answers to the voters, not the legislature.5. The people elect the president, and elections are held at set intervals.

Click here to see the full blog post